Governing Body

The main role of the Governing Body is strategic.  In consultation with Mrs Gurney, we determine the strategic path for the future development of the school in order to ensure continued improvement.  
The Governing Body's key functions are to:
  • Set the aims and objectives of the school
  • Set targets
  • Monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making
  • Develop school policies
  • Manage the school budget
  • Act as a critical friend to the head teacher - so be supportive yet challenging
The Governing Body meets formally four times a year whilst the two committees meet twice each term.  
There are also three informal meetings where planning and/or training takes place each year.
For 2017-2018 the governors are:
Governor Category Date of Appointment Term of Office Lead Role
Andrew Armour Parent Governor 01/01/2017 4 years Maths, ICT, Computing
Damian Carlier General Member 01/01/2017 4 years Assessment
Louise Gurney Head Teacher      
Rev. John Saxon Ex Officio      
Joanne Fradd Staff 01/01/2017 4 years  
Joanna Grandfield Parent Governor 01/01/2017 4 years Humanities
Sarah Mitchell Executive Head      
Lin Stephenson Chair of Governors 01/01/2017 4 years SEN, More Able, PE
Finance and Premises Committee Members

Mrs L Stephenson,  Mr A. Armour, Mrs L Gurney

Teaching and Learning Committee Members

Mrs J Fradd, Rev J Saxon, Mrs S Mitchell, Mrs L Stephenson, Mrs J Grandfield, Mrs L Gurney

T. 01799540302